Swaledale Runners

Formerly Swaledale Road Runners

Race Reports

Swaledale marathon

The Swaledale Marathon is probably the biggest day in the club's calendar and there was a tremendous turnout for this year's event. As usual, club rivalries were played out at the front end of the race, whilst some other members enjoyed a more leisurely day, in what after all, started as an event for walkers.
Stu Smith took the honours as first club member home in 3h37 for 16th place, with no fewer than six more men breaking the 4 hour barrier - Mark Sowerby 3.42, Martin Randall 3.44, Robbie Kelly 3.48, Derek Parrington 3.48, Tim Grimwood 3.53 and Ian Oldham 3.56. Rebecca Simpson also broke 4 hours with a superb run, finishing 6th woman in 3.58. She could surely challenge the men in the club fell championship if she chooses to.
Other club times. Neil Bowmer 4.16, Claire Stewart 4.32, Vicki Howe 4.47, Lucy Tulloch 4.48, Sue and Ray Crabbe 4.49, Kenton Smith 4.55, Suzie McGann 5.10, Michael Rosher 5.16, Jan Ilsley 5.16, Grace Gilpin 5.36, Helen Inglis 5.41, Keith Bell 5.42, Roger Brisley 5.46, Anne Singleton 5.47, Sarah Norman 5.57, Stu Clarkson 6.07, Alyson Cole 6.23, Andy Broadley 6.31, Christian Player 7.00, Harry Ellis 7.12.